Jetpack
Support Home > Social > Google+

Google+

Thanks to the Publicize module, you can automatically publish each one of your blog posts to your Google+ Profile.

On the Settings -> Sharing page click Add New. You’ll be taken to Google where you’ll be asked to approve the connection between your Jetpack site and your Google+ account. Click Accept.

Request_for_Permission

On the next screen, you’ll see a message confirming that you have successfully connected your Jetpack site to your Google+ Profile. You can also check the box to make the connection available to all users of the blog. This means that when another user creates a post it will also publicize to this Google+ connection.

Changing who can see your Publicized posts on Google+

By default, Google+ sets the visibility of your posts to “Only You”. You can change this setting when connecting your site to Google+, or later on by going to Settings > Manage apps & activities in Google+:

App_settings

Click the edit link indicated above and there is a drop down menu (shown below) with options to selectively share to extended circles, the public, only your circles, only you, or a custom option where you can select specific circles to share your content:

sharingoptions

Reconnecting Google+

If the connection between Google+ and your site gets disconnected for some reason, don’t worry, just follow these steps and you’ll be back on track again in no time.

  1. Log into your Jetpack site. Go to Settings -> Sharing and click the X next to the link to the Google+ profile or page you wish to disconnect.
  2. Reload the page and confirm the link now says Add new, but don’t click that link yet.
  3. Log into your Google+ account. Then go to your Google+ Manage Apps page by clicking this link.
  4. Hover your mouse over the WordPress application to display a pencil icon as shown here:
  5. App_settings

  6. Click on the pencil to display a drop-down menu.
  7. Select “Disconnect.”
  8. In the window that pops up, confirm the disconnect by clicking the “Disconnect” button. Do not choose to delete your information unless you want everything you’ve shared on Google+ through WordPress to also be deleted.
  9. Log back into your site. Go to Settings -> Sharing and follow the steps at the top of this page to reconnect.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63,571 other followers